Emergencies: 911


Back to News List  
 July 19th, 2012  
26th Annual St. Lucie County Sheriff's Office Florida Sheriffs Youth Ranches Golf Tournament raises more than $56,000 to benefit displaced and troubled children of Florida, according to Sheriff Mascara
St. Lucie County Sheriff Ken J. Mascara's recent golf tournament to benefit the Florida Sheriffs Youth Ranches raised more than $56,000 to benefit the troubled and displaced children of Florida.

"This year's proceeds bring the total raised by our Youth Ranches golf tournaments to more than $800,000 since our tournaments began in St. Lucie County in 1986," Sheriff Mascara said. "The uncertainties in our economy have made this year's proceeds of $56,116 especially important. I want to thank the 128 golfers who participated in the May 12 tournament, and I would like to thank Legacy Golf and Tennis Club for hosting the tournament."

Sheriff Mascara said: "The Sheriffs of Florida created the Youth Ranches in the 1950s to give the displaced children of Florida a start in life with the proper educational and emotional support. More than 50 years later, this network of facilities throughout the state continues to enjoy the strong support of the people of Florida.

"The Florida Sheriffs Youth Ranches are incorporated as a charitable, tax-exempt organization. Donations are tax-deductible," Sheriff Mascara said.

More information is available at the Youth Ranches website: youthranches.org.

The Sheriff also thanked the event's sponsors:

Gold Sponsors were: the Golden Nugget Arcade and GTL.

Bronze Sponsors were: Carroll Collins Bail Bonds, Corizon, Mercedes-Benz of Fort Pierce, Seacoast National Bank, Star & Shield Group, St. Lucie County McDonald's Restaurants, Tin Fish Tradition and Treasure Coast Ear, Nose & Throat, P.A.

"I also would like to thank the members of the Golf Tournament Committee and the volunteers," said Sheriff Mascara. "Without their dedication and hard work throughout the year, the continued success of our golf tournaments would not be possible."

The members of the tournament committee are: Nicole Nastasia, Nancy Perella, Laurie Privateer, Tammy Schwab, Dorothy Shaw, Natalie Smith, Diane Trabulsy, Rhonda Vincent, Jim Westenhaver and Debra Wright.

Volunteers are: Justin Jensen, Sarah Miller, Elizabeth Privateer, Rachel Privateer, Rena Schwab, Dane Vincent and Tom Vincent.

crime stoppers