Emergencies: 911


Back to News List  
 February 24th, 2009  
St. Lucie County jail system earns reaccreditation, according to Sheriff Mascara
The jail system of the St. Lucie County Sheriff’s Office has earned reaccreditation from the Florida Corrections Accreditation Commission, according to Sheriff Ken J. Mascara.

“Maj. F. Patrick Tighe, Director of Detention, along with Capt. Pat Walsh, Master Deputy Jason Wheeler, the detention accreditation manager, traveled to Tampa today to answer questions from the Commission about programs and practices at our jail,” Sheriff Mascara said. “At the meeting, the Commission gave its unanimous approval to the reaccreditation of our Department of Detention.”

The Sheriff, who also attended the Commission meeting, congratulated Maj. Tighe and the Department of Detention staff. “Reaccreditation demonstrates that our jail system operates in a modern, professional manner, as determined by a review by objective, third-party observers,” Sheriff Mascara said.

Approval followed a three-day assessment of the Department of Detention by a three-member assessment team last December. The team consisted of: Lt. Isaiah Dennard, retired from Orange County Corrections, Lt. Don West of the Alachua County Sheriff’s Office, and Lt. Scott Jensen from Lake County Sheriff’s Office.

The team found the St. Lucie County Department of Detention in compliance with all 247 jail standards and recommended that the Commission reaccredit the department.

The department first attained accreditation in 2000 and earned three-year reaccreditation in 2003, 2006 and now, 2009.

More information is available about Florida’s detention and law enforcement accreditation at the Commission’s web site:


crime stoppers